top of page

Early details emerge for Jordan Peele's new film

Look, I loved Get Out. Beyond it's timely release against the Trump inauguration and it's deep-cutting social commentary, it's a flat out excellent horror film. The opening alone is this stuff of nightmares, with a disturbing abduction in a wholesome neighborhood. So anything, any headline, any project with Peele's name attached has me overly excited. We heard news he'll produce a new Twilight Zone for TV. But no news hit about what his next project is. Until today!

At a President's Day screening for his masterful genre piece, Get Out, director Jordan Peele told the audience he's decided, and already working on, his next project. Per The Hollywood Reporter, Peele said "I am currently writing it, and I'll direct it for Universal this year. I'm just trying to entertain myself again". Asked what the film is about, though the filmmaker remained tight-lipped, he added, "One thing I know is that this is genre; and playing around with the thriller, horror, action, fun genre of intrigue is my favorite. That’s my sweet spot. So I think tonally it should resemble Get Out. That said, I want to make a completely different movie. I want to address something different than race in the next one".

So Peele is sticking to horror and he's shooting this year. Hell yes. Whatever the sophomore project turns out to be, I'm there.

bottom of page